UWA Logo What's On at UWA
   UWA HomeProspective Students  | Current Students  | Staff  | Alumni  | Visitors  | About  |     Search UWA    for      

AWARD CEREMONY: The Dorothy Hewett Award Ceremony

* Login to add events... *
Today's date is Sunday, May 16, 2021
The Dorothy Hewett Award Ceremony : Celebrate new Australian writing with UWA Publishing Other events...
UWA Publishing and Perth Writers Week invite you to The 2018 Dorothy Hewett Award ceremony.

UWA Publishing's Dorothy Hewett for an Unpublished Manuscript is a national prize worth $10,000. It is a rare, multi-genre award open to fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry. The first winner of the award, Extinctions by Josephine Wilson, went on to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award. Celebrate new writing with UWA Publishing and the previous winners, Josephine Wilson and Odette Kelada, at the announcement of the third Dorothy Hewett Award.

A complementary glass of sparkling wine will be served upon arrival.

The 2018 shortlisted writers are:

Teresa Bell (NSW; fiction) Angela Gardner (QLD; poetry) Kate Gordon (TAS; poetry) Louise Helfgott (WA; fiction) Julie Watts (WA; poetry) This event is presented as part of the Perth Writers Week. The 2018 Dorothy Hewett Award is supported by the Copyright Agency and The Monthly.

Join the conversation on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with the hashtags #uwapublishing #dorothyhewettaward #DHA18 and #perthfestww.
Location UWA University Club
Contact Charlotte Guest <[email protected]> : 0864883670
URL https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/the-2018-dorothy-hewett-award-ceremony-tickets-42933294640
Start Sat, 24 Feb 2018 17:30
End Sat, 24 Feb 2018 18:15
RSVP RSVP is required.
Submitted by Charlotte Guest <[email protected]>
Last Updated Tue, 13 Feb 2018 09:27
Included in the following Calendars:
Additional Information:
  • Locations of venues on the Crawley and Nedlands campuses are available via the Campus Maps website.
  • Download this event as: Text | iCalendar
  • Mail this event:

Top of Page
© 2001-2010  The University of Western Australia
Questions? Mail [email protected]